Uncategorized

Vegan(ish)

Hey all!  As some of you might know, I’ve been striving towards adopting a vegan, plant-based diet.  I LOVE this diet for so many reasons, but I have to be honest…I’ve been really struggling with it lately.  I’ve found myself falling back into the same cycle over and over again, where I’ll stick to a vegan diet for a few weeks, but then I’ll be out to dinner or at a friend’s house and I’ll chow down on something cheesy or creamy before I can talk myself out of it.  Gah!

I’m trying not to be too harsh with myself or beat myself up when I do slip and eat something non-vegan.  At home, I’m still 100% vegan (and I love cooking vegan food), and I don’t foresee that changing anytime soon.  It’s the pizza, ice cream, creamy things that lurk in restaurant’s and the refrigerators of my friends and family that are really tempting me.

{cred and current situation}

With the holidays coming up, I know that full-blown temptation is going to be ALL AROUND ME.  That being said, I really do think that a vegan diet is the right way to go, and I’m still on my journey to get there.  I think I’m off to a really good start by sticking to a vegan diet at home, and I’m starting to focus on sticking to plant-based foods when eating at a restaurant or someone else’s home.  After doing some research, I’ve settled onto a few strategies I’ll be implementing to keep myself on track, especially for Thanksgiving!

1) Bring a vegan dish:  We’ll be splitting the holiday between T’s family and mind, and we’re bringing side dishes to both meals.  If I cook a meat-eater approved vegan dish (thanks for testing T) then I know of at least one thing I can eat AND I can share a growing passion of mine with those I love most.

2) Start with veggies:  I’ve never seen a Thanksgiving or holiday spread that didn’t include a salad or two, so I’m planning on filling up with plants first.  That way, I’ll make sure I have something nutritious in my system, and I’ll (in theory) fill up and leave less room in my tummy for non-vegan foods.  I’m looking at you, buttery mashed potatoes.

3) Be kind: If I do indulge in foods with dairy or eggs in them, I’m not going to beat myself up over it.  I knew going into this transition that I wasn’t going to become vegan overnight.  I don’t do well jumping into anything cold-turkey (ironic expression), and for me, this is all about progress towards a goal.  I just need to keep reminding myself what success actually looks like:


Are any of you trying out a vegan lifestyle?  Do you have any tips of your own for handling food temptations?  I’d love to hear from you 🙂
Until next time!


Leave a Reply

