Beauty

Beauty Haul

I first started becoming interested in make-up around the 8th grade.  I was going through a punk rock phase (I know), and I was a huge, huge fan of wearing thick inky black eyeliner all around my eyes.  Again, I know.  To be fair, I was only thirteen, and most definitely got my inspiration from the thousand or so Good Charlotte posters hanging on my bedroom walls.

After twelve years of experimenting with different (thank goodness) make-up looks, I’d like to think that I’ve gotten the hang of what looks good on me and what doesn’t.  I love cruising through Pinterest and other blogs for beauty inspiration, which sadly means that I always want to splurge on new products.  However, being a student teacher in grad school with zero income as of this week, trips to Sephora are not going to cut it.  Until graduation at least!

 Thankfully, I already use some key drugstore key staples that I love as much as my wallet does.

IMG_3820 (1)

{today’s haul}

Today, I scooped up some of my usual staples:

  1. Maybelline’s BB Cream: I really like this cream for everyday wear.  It feels light on my skin, smoothes out my skin tone, and lasts all day.  I also love that I can actually afford it.

2. Maybelline concealer: I try not to use this everyday, but it really comes in handy if I have a breakout.  It blends really nicely with my skin, and the coverage is overall pretty good.  No complaints with this guy yet!

3. Covergirl eyeliner: I have used this eyeliner FOREVER.  It’s my secret trick to the perfect cat-eye (more about that in a later post.)  This liner looks fresh all day, is really easy to put on, and again, won’t break the bank.

4. Neutrogena color stick in Bright Berry: Last, but certainly not least is a newbie for me.  I am obsessed with lipsticks and lip balms (which T affectionately refers to as my ‘lippy stuff’) and this one is my new favorite.  Awhile back I had purchased a color stick in Sweet Watermelon that didn’t really end up suiting me.  When I saw this shade today, I decided to give this stick one more try, and I’m so glad I did! The color is so good, it goes on smooth, and stays on for a good amount of time, even after eating and drinking.  I sense that this will quickly become my everyday shade; it’s just enough to brighten my face, without looking too fancy.

IMG_3821

{yerp, that’s backwards}

What are some of your favorite beauty buys? Until next time!

***Disclaimer: these products were purchased by me with my own money.  All opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

