Book Talk: The Secret Life of Bees

Good morning! Today marks my first official day of school vacation (read: intensely needed mental break).  While I had originally planned to sleep in slightly this morning, my body had other ideas.  Needless to say, I’ve been wide awake since 6:20 or so this morning, so I figured I might as well greet the day instead of fighting to stay in bed. I know.

While my plan to do a little bit of nothing isn’t off to the best start, my second school-break plan of getting tons of reading done is going much better.  Just last night I finished The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd.

imgres

To dive right in, I loved this book.  Set in mid-1960’s South Carolina, the novel spins the tale of 14-year-old Lily Owens, a young girl living with her harsh and abusive father on their peach farm.  Having lost her mother in a tragic accident ten years prior, Lily’s only true companion is Rosaleen, the fierce and feisty black woman who serves as her nurse and “stand in” mother.

On one fateful day, Rosaleen gravely insults three racist white men in town while trying to register herself to vote for the first time.  Lily spurs into action in order to save her friend and leads them both to Tiburon, South Carolina; the name of a town scrawled on the back of a photograph that once belonged to her mother.  Once there, they are taken in by three eccentric, black, beekeeping sisters named May, June, and August.  Lily is quickly swept into their life of bees, honey, laughter, and wisdom, where she ultimately faces her deepest secret and demon: the memory of her mother.

The Secret Life of Bees is a story of mothers and daughters, the sacred power of women, and the unending power of love.  I devoured this book, and I think every woman (and man) should give it a read.

Up next for me: Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari.  What are you reading?! Interested in checking out? I’d love to hear all about it!

Until next time- keep reading!

Leave a Reply

