Ink

Ink Story: Lumos (and BROOKLYN!)

Few things make me happier than girls’ weekends filled with brunch, wine and/or champagne, reminiscing about old times, and…TATTOOS!  This past weekend,  I travelled to Brooklyn to visit with some of my nearest and dearest friends.  It had been a long time since some of us had seen each other, and we were all thrilled to indulge in some much-needed girl time.

IMG_3980
electric

The first highlight of the trip was hitting up a tattoo parlor after a particularly delicious brunch (consumed before photographed).  Three of us have been die-hard Harry Potter fans since we were in the 4th grade, and  so we decided to get matching tattoos that featured an aspect of the novels.  We decided on the word lumos, which is the spell for light.  Personally, I think this word is the perfect homage not only to the  significant role that Harry Potter plays in our lives, but also serves as a symbol of positivity.  And, it’s a magical word…selling point.

IMG_3981
portfolio wall

 

IMG_4003
from top to bottom: me, L, and M

Needless to say, we all love our new pieces.  It feels extra special to have a friend tattoo that means so much to all of us.

IMG_3986
missing this

After getting inked, we hung out, stopped for drinks in neighborhood bars, and then headed back to L’s apartment to freshen up a bit before trekking into Manhattan to catch a Broadway show!

IMG_4001
homemade vegan brunch
IMG_3989
three gals and a phantom

I have wanted to see Phantom of the Opera for what feels like forever, and I was so blown away by the performance.  The music is beautiful, the set was impressive, and the acting superb.  I am so thankful that I finally got to see one of my favorite stories played out on the stage, even if my heart broke (again) for the phantom.

IMG_3992
dream come true

All in all, it was the perfect weekend that I think each of us needed.  At least I know I did.

Do you have any ink stories? Girls trip stories? Weekend stories?

I’d love to hear!

4 thoughts on “Ink Story: Lumos (and BROOKLYN!)

Leave a Reply

