Hello, April

Happy 1st Day of April (and April Fool’s Day!)  I celebrated by playing a prank on my poor 6th graders by telling them they had to finish the novel that we’re reading by Tuesday morning! Tame, I know, but I got the better of them, and once I revealed that I was joking they all got a pretty good laugh out of it, so that’s a win- right?

IMG_4113.JPG

Anyway, on to the real reason for this post, which is my goal updates!  For New Year’s I vowed to set mini-goals for myself each month to keep myself honest on the whole resolution thing, and it’s been going pretty well so far!  Last month, I resolved to write in a daily gratitude journal…and I have to say its been amazing.  I worked writing in my journal into my morning routine, and I can genuinely say that it had a hugely positive effect on my everyday mood.  I think it’s important to acknowledge moments in your life, big and small, that bring you joy because, honestly, what’s the point if you don’t? I highly recommend expressing gratitude for the positive things that happen to you, or even lessons you learn after something negative, in written form.  It’s a wonderful stress-reliever and mood lifter, and it leaves a record for you to refer back to on the days where it feels harder to see the bright side.  I whole-heartedly plan on continuing this ritual every morning.

IMG_4112

With March’s goal conquered, I’m ready to tackle my April aim.  Since my last few goals (check them out here and here) focused on my mind and spirit, I wanted to switch gears and focus on something that would give my body a little TLC.  After thinking, a lot, I decided that my April goal will be…..drinking 1 gallon of water per day.  With this goal, I hope to make myself be more mindful of my drinks throughout the day, since right now my main source of fluid is coffee (I know.) I have not been drinking nearly enough water, and my aim is to establish a much healthier habit about consuming it regularly throughout the day.  I wouldn’t hate getting a flawless complexion in the deal either.

Until next time…wish me luck!

One thought on “Hello, April

Leave a Reply

