Feeling Myself: National Abortion Access Bowl-a-Thon

screen-shot-2015-04-02-at-5-26-06-pm.png

Hello! If you love fighting the good fight for women’s rights, specifically for their right to make their own decisions about what to do with their bodies, then read on! If not, read on anyway, and please do so with a kind heart and an open mind.

While this blog has never been an outlet to voice my political and personal opinions about serious matters such as abortion access, I feel compelled to do so now (more on that later). As a feminist and a woman, I firmly fall on the pro-choice side of this debate.  I believe that all women should have the respect and trust of society to make decisions that are the best for themselves and their loved ones, including the legal right to safely and legally terminate an unwanted pregnancy.  Abortion access is a medical necessity, and legally restricting this procedure takes control of a woman’s body away from her, and places it into the hands of the lawmakers (read: politicians who, for the most part, are older white men).  In short, it is nothing short of critical for us as a generation to ensure that our women have access to abortion if they so choose, for no one should be able to decide what happens to a woman’s body except for HER.

Why am I ranting about a women’s health/feminist issue? Well…

A single click on Facebook recently got me back in touch with Tiffany T, a bad ass career woman and activist whom I met wayyyyy back in freshman year of college (go Butterfield dorm!).  Tiffany works at the National Network of Abortion Funds, and is currently involved with their annual Bowl-a-Thon for abortion access.  Here’s what she has to say about her work and this important fund raiser:

Hi! I’m the Member Support Coordinator, so I provide support to our members (abortion funds!) to have strong, sustainable, and effective organizations. I’ve participated in the Bowl-a-Thon every year since 2013, and I’ve already beat my personal best this year! There are over 2000 people raising money for the fund; some are raising money for our national work, like I am, but most people are raising money for their local abortion funds. We’re trying to raise $800,000 in total, and the average donation is under $40. So it really shows how powerful we can be when we get every day people aware of an issue.

 When I ‘liked’ a link she’d posted about the event, she sent me a personal message thanking me for the love and giving me more information about how to donate to the cause.  Needless to say, this is an issue I care deeply about, and I happily donated my own hard-earned money.  For anyone interested in learning more about the Bowl-a-Thon, or for anyone who would like to make a donation, visit Tiffany’s page here.

Again, I know this is a “hot button” topic, and I am fully aware that not everyone out there will have the same opinions as I do.  That being said, I am open to any discussion at all on this topic, as long as it’s respectful, kind, open-minded, and positive (myself included).

Leave a Reply

