Daily Do’s

When it comes to doing my hair every morning, the word that comes to mind is…simple.  I’ve been growing my hair out for a little over a half a year now, and between its length, getting used to my bangs again,  and my lack of sophisticated hair styling skills, my go-to do’s are usually very low key.  And let’s be real, I’m around 6th graders all day, and they could care less what I look like anyhow.

That being said, I do want to look professional and stylish (read: look like I’m ‘adulting’) while I’m at work, going out with friends, or having a date night with T.  Here are my go-to styles for when I want to look put together, without investing too much time getting ready.

1) Low, messy pony:  Okay, I know I’m hardly break new ground here, but this hairstyle is one of my favorites for days when I know I’ll be running around.  I don’t like how my hair looks tied back in a ponytail if it’s in its natural state, so I usually whisk my straightener over the top layer of my hair before tying it back for a smoother effect.

front pony
{front; cheesin}

side pony

2) Sleek half-up half-down: I’m not entirely crazy with how my hair looks completely down after straightening it, so I usually tie half of it back to add a little volume.  This do takes about 10 minutes to throw together, which is ideal on mornings when I’m running a tad late!

straight hair

3) Top Knot: This is by far one of my favorite hairstyles.  I have some layers in my hair right now that make it difficult to wrestle it into a bun, so this look works best on me when I’m between shampoos and my hair has a bit of product in it.

bun front
{front}
bun side
{side}

4) Curly with pinned back pieces: This do requires more of a time investment, but it does the trick on days when I want to look a little more polished.  To style, I wrap small sections of my hair around the barrel of a 1″ curling iron in alternating directions around my whole head.  Then, I grab two same-ish sized pieces from the front of my hair, loosely twist them once, and pin them to the side of my head.  The curls make this look feel a little more elevated, while pinning back the front pieces keeps my hair out of my face while I’m running around my classroom all day.

curly pinned

5) Curly: This look is my overall favorite, but as its the most time consuming, I usually reserve it for date nights or dressier occasions.

curly down

What are your favorite hairstyles? I’d love to hear!

2 thoughts on “Daily Do’s

  1. Love the down and curly look! My hair is around the same length right now and I try my hardest to get it to look like that but it never works! I’m growing my hair long again to get back to my favorite style for work…..the top knot!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

