Fitness · Goals · Lifestyle

Hello, May (and Way of Gray)

I might be a day late, but I still cannot believe that May is already here! I’m still waiting for Mother Nature to bestow sunny days and May flowers on Boston, but the promise of summer creeping ever closer is pulling me through!

Before I introduce my new goal for this month, I need to come clean about my April goal.  To be brief, I flopped.  I’m not entirely sure why, but I had a really hard time remembering to drink water regularly throughout the day, and I found myself often realizing around dinnertime that I’d barely drunk any all day.  Needless to say, I’m a little bummed with myself for being so flaky with my goal; however, this month did help me realize that gallon or not, I do not drink nearly enough water.  Moving forward, I aim to be better about this habit in general, and will reach for it more often then I have.

That being said, I am so excited and READY for my May goal: to work up a sweat a minimum of five days a week.  I’ve been making it a point recently to wake up early a few mornings a week to get a workout in, but this month I want to focus on upping the ante when it comes to physical fitness.  Since my current schedule leaves precious little time for me to get to the gym, I decided to find an alternative workout program that I could do at home with nothing else but myself and a yoga mat.

My mind immediately jumped to Sophie Gray, a personal trainer and nutritionist.  I currently own two of her HIIT programs (which are crazy hard and sadly no longer available on her site), but I decided to check out her page to see if she had any new offerings.  After perusing her site, I decided to purchase her new  Love Yourself* program, which is available via eBook complete with video links to each workout.  The program has a convenient schedule of 4 workouts/wk, which stretch across the span of 3 months.  While the initial week or two look to be on the easier side, the intensity of the sessions increases throughout the program, which I am so looking forward to.  I’ve been a huge fan of Sophie’s HIIT routines in the past, and I’m excited to dive into her new program to see what it has to offer!

screen-shot-2016-01-18-at-10-06-08-am.png
image here

In addition to my four mornings of HIIT, I want to incorporate running, yoga, and weight-lifting workouts into my 5th day each week, mostly to prevent myself from getting too bored.  By the end of this month, I hope to feel stronger, leaner, and more passionate about fitness.  And hey, it wouldn’t hurt to feel more confident in summer clothes, right?

What have you been doing to get your body moving? I’d love to hear 🙂

2 thoughts on “Hello, May (and Way of Gray)

  1. This sounds like a great plan! I wish I was better at working out at home, but I’m usually unmotivated unless I’m at the gym itself. And I totally hear you on the water thing… I was really good about drinking it and logging it into the Waterlogged app on my phone, but I’ve definitely gotten lazy when it comes to that too!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much!!! The struggle to stay motivated is so real. I should check out Waterlogged-maybe it’ll help to keep me honest. Thank for for mentioning it, and for stopping by!
      xx Ashley

      Like

Leave a Reply

