Eat · Lifestyle

Raw Pad Thai

With summer and all of its humidity in full swing here in Boston, I’ve been scrambling to come up with some lighter, yet still satisfying dinners that don’t require much interaction with the stove or oven.  After perusing my cookbooks and Pinterest without much luck, I finally stumbled across this recipe for a raw pad thai dish from one of my all time favorite vegan blogs, “Oh She Glows.”  This dish delivered on everything I was looking for: it was simple to prepare, it tasted delicious, and I got to steer clear of the stove.  While I used “Oh She Glows” creator Angela Liddon’s recipe as an inspiration and a base line, I made a couple very minor adjustments based on personal preference and, full disclosure, needing to creatively replace a few items I forgot to buy at the grocery store.  You can find the original recipe here, or follow along with my very minimally tweaked method below.  Either way, do yourself a favor and give it a try!

Raw Pad Thai( originally found on Oh She Glows)

Salad Ingredients

  • 2 zucchinis, spiralized
  • 2 carrots, cut into strips with a peeler
  • 1 cup edamame, thawed
  • 1 pepper, thinly sliced
  • 3-4 green onions, sliced
  • Small handful of almonds, chopped in a food processor

Sauce Ingredients

  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons almond butter
  • 2 tablespoons each of:
    • Lime juice (takes 1 lime)
    • Water
    • Soy Sauce
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons maple syrup
  • 1/2 tablespoon sesame oil
  • 1 teaspoon grated ginger

Method

  1. Spiralize/slice/prep all of your veggies and mix together in a bowl.  The only major changes I made from the original recipe were to omit the cabbage (never really been a fan) and seeds (I totally forgot to buy them.)  To make up for the missing seeds and add a little crunch to this salad, I ended up grinding some raw almonds as a topping and it was DELICIOUS.  
  2. Toss all of your sauce ingredients in a blender or food processor (or whip by hand), and blend until smooth.  The only change I made to my sauce was to add more almond butter to make it a little thicker than the original.  To be honest I’ll probably add a bit more to my next batch, since my sauce was still a bit too watery for my liking.
  3. Pour your dressing over the salad and enjoy!
DSC_0966
check those colors!
DSC_0967
get in my belly

What have you been cooking lately? Know of any good food blogs I should check out? I’d LOVE to hear!

Leave a Reply

